Lake Lewisville CCKF Stop 2 – Special Thanks!

Tournament fishing is where it’s for me. I love the competitive spirit and getting together with everyone for a full day of “Live Action” on the area lakes. That is just what Capital City Kayak Fishing Tournament Series delivers. Stop two happened last Saturday on Lake Lewisville and we all know the result. Congratulations to Todd Hiley on his great win. The conditions were rough with water temperatures in the low to mid 40’s. I was hoping to pull off a little magic, but all I pulled was my shoulder from throwing the Flash Mob Jr all day.

My tournament day was far from perfect and started with a major equipment failure. I would like to thank Brian Row for helping me figure out the electrical issue and getting me out on the water. I realize it’s a tournament and that there is money to be won, but Brian went over the top to take time to help and show me where the problem was. As many of you know I am not a hammer and nails guy, but in times like these it pays to have friends who are.  After issue one was handled issue number two raised its head. Yep, my trusty battery went out and left me in the dark and basically fishing by instinct. For those that know me most of the times my instincts are opposite of what the fish are doing, however, another good friend to the rescue. Tournament Director Beau Reed let me use his battery and at least I was able to have power for another hour. That is until the Humminbird drained his battery as well. Like I always say it’s your intentions that matter most and Beaus intention was clear and that was to help me out of jam. Thanks Beau!

When I think of kayak tournaments I think of NASCAR, due to having teams, secret alliances, egos, and the occasional drama. However, I also see the human side of our sport and that is those guys’ in the know, helping guys who want to know.  This is the most important part of the sport. There are statistics across the board showing paddling as one of the fastest growing sports. With continued help from the faithful and good promotion from the media guys in our ranks and the willingness of the angler to help those who may be new I feel we can grow the tournament scene to large numbers. We all have to be committed to do our part. Whether your part is to try and win all the money, help people who are new or just make observations through video or blog. When we all work together for the good of the sport then great things will happen.

I just realized that I pulled out the soapbox and rambled. Sorry about that but, I support the above and what the heck else could I have written about when we only had one score able fish? Anyway, great tournament and I am looking forward to battling those secret alliances on Purtis Creek. All I can say is come on water temperature.

KEEP LIVING THE DREAM!

 

One thought on “Lake Lewisville CCKF Stop 2 – Special Thanks!

Leave a Reply

